Sign In Forgot Password

WE ARE A CONGREGATION OF SUPPORTIVE, CARING AND DIVERSE PEOPLE WITH A RICH HISTORY. TEMPLE IS A PLACE FOR PRAYER, RITUAL, SPIRITUALITY, LEARNING, WHOLENESS AND HEALING, SOCIAL ACTION AND CELEBRATION.

Founded in 1898, with antecedents as a cemetery association going back another decade, we have a rich history. Rabbis Zielonka and Fierman each chronicled that history, and their writings are included on the site, along with some links to sites of interest to those exploring Jewish El Paso.

Temple has had three homes since 1898. Our first, which we occupied from 1898 until 1916, is no longer in existence, but was located at the corner of N. Oregon Street and E. Yandell Boulevard. Our second, an impressive structure at the corner of Oregon Street and Montana Avenue, 886 N. Oregon Street, now houses offices of the El Paso Community College. Some of the stained glass from that building has been incorporated into our current home, but much is still in place at the old Temple. Since 1962, we've been at 4408 North Stanton Street, in a modernist building by noted Los Angeles architect Sidney Eisenshtat. Rabbi Fierman's description of the building, written for its dedication, is illuminating.

TEMPLE'S FIRST HOME IN 1898, 714 N. OREGON STREET (CORNER OF N. OREGON ST AND E. YANDELL BOULEVARD)

TEMPLE'S SECOND HOME IN 1916, 886 N. OREGON STREET (CORNER OF OREGON STREET AND MONTANA AVENUE)

TEMPLE TODAY, 4408 N. STANTON STREET

 Member of the Union for Reform Judaism (URJ)
Comprised of nearly 900 Reform congregations in North America.

Sat, June 15 2024 9 Sivan 5784