Header Image

Who We Are

 
 

We are a congregation of supportive, caring and diverse people with a rich history. Temple is a place for prayer, ritual, spirituality, learning, wholeness and healing, social action and celebration.

Founded in 1898, with antecedents as a cemetery association going back another decade, we have a rich history. Rabbis Zieolonka and Fierman each chronicled that history, and their writings are included on the site, along with some links to sites of interest to those exploring Jewish El Paso.

Temple has had three homes since 1898. Our first, which we occupied from 1898 until 1916, is no longer in existence. Our second, an impressive structure at the corner of Oregon and Montana, now houses offices of the El Paso Community College. Some of the stained glass from that building has been incorporated into our current home, but much is still in place at the old Temple. Since 1962, we've been at 4408 North Stanton Street, in a modernist building by noted Los Angeles architect Sidney Eisenshtat. Rabbi Fierman's description of the building, written for its dedication, is illuminating.

First Synagogue

Temple's first home in 1898

TMS Oregon St building

Temple's second home in 1916